{"api_version":"v1","data":{"slug":"tennessee-state-university","name":"Tennessee State University","short_name":"Tennessee State University","short_name_source":{"evidence":"the site's copy uses the formal name; no short form seen","title":"Home, Tennessee State University","url":"https://www.tnstate.edu/","accessed":"2026-09-17"},"alternate_names":["TSU"],"enrollment":{"students":"~8,200 students","total":8198,"as_of":"Fall 2023","note":"Enrollment is the official 2023 count, rounded. Tap a school for its source.","citation":{"title":"IPEDS Fall Enrollment 2023, derived variables (DRVEF2023)","url":"https://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/datacenter/data/DRVEF2023.zip","file_date":"2024-09-30","accessed":"2026-09-17"}},"unit_id":"221838","ope_id":"00352200","city":"Nashville","state":"TN","state_name":"Tennessee","postal_code":"37209-1561","campus_address":"3500 John A. Merritt Blvd","website":"https://www.tnstate.edu/","control":"public","level":"4yr","title_iv":"participating","on_ope_statutory_list":true,"founded_year":1912,"geocode_status":"exact","location_confidence":"confirmed","geocode_reason":"Exact","coordinates":{"lat":36.166321,"lng":-86.828275},"location_source":{"source":"ipeds","data_year":"2024-25","dataset":"IPEDS Institutional Characteristics, Directory information (HD2024)","file_date":"2025-09-21","retrieved":"2026-09-14"},"address":{"street":"3500 John A. Merritt Blvd","city":"Nashville","state":"TN","zip":"37209-1561","street_source":null},"city_centre":null,"image":{"url":"https://ledger.newbws.com/hbcu/images/tennessee-state-university.jpg","width":1200,"height":900,"alt":"WTN PeepHoles 052, Tennessee State University","kind":"campus","source_type":"wikimedia-commons","source_url":"https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:WTN_PeepHoles_052.JPG","file_url":"https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/3/35/WTN_PeepHoles_052.JPG?utm_source=commons.wikimedia.org&utm_campaign=imageinfo&utm_content=original","license":"Public domain","license_url":null,"author":"Not stated on Wikimedia Commons","credit":null,"credit_text":"Not stated on Wikimedia Commons, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons","date_original":null,"retrieved":"2026-09-16"},"url":"https://ledger.newbws.com/hbcu/tennessee-state-university"},"meta":{"source":{"population":"One record per institution the NCES IPEDS directory flags HBCU=1 and CYACTIVE=1 (currently active) in the 2024-25 collection.","count_as_sourced":102,"ipeds":{"publisher":"U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics","dataset":"IPEDS Institutional Characteristics, Directory information (HD2024)","collection":"2024-25 provisional data collection","url":"https://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/datacenter/data/HD2024.zip","file_date":"2025-09-21","hbcu_flagged":102},"ope_statutory_list":{"publisher":"U.S. Department of Education, Office of Postsecondary Education","dataset":"Higher Education Programs Eligibility Matrix, sheet 'HBCU'","url":"https://www.ed.gov/media/document/fy-2026-higher-education-programs-eligibility-matrix-june-8-2026-114185.xlsx","dated":"2026-06-08","stated_count":100,"stated_count_label":"2026 Eligible HBCU/HBGIs="},"generated_on":"2026-09-14"},"license":""}}