Skip to content
The Ledger
The Rise · HBCU

Meharry(Meharry Medical College)

WTN PeepHoles 031, Meharry Medical College
Not stated on Wikimedia Commons, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Nashville, Tennessee · Founded 1876

Private · Four-year · ~1,100 students

www.mmc.edu · official site

Founding

Meharry Medical College was founded in 1876 as the Medical Department of Central Tennessee College and was the first medical school in the South for African Americans. Its school of dentistry was founded in 1886 and its graduate school in 1938.

Source: History, Meharry Medical College, read 2026-09-14.

On the official record

Campus address
1005 DB Todd Blvd., Nashville, TN 37208
Control
Private not-for-profit
Students
~1,100 students
Directory id
220792
OPE id
00350600
Student aid
Takes part in Title IV student aid
Title III Part B list, FY 2026
Listed
Location
1005 DB Todd Blvd., Nashville, TN. See it on the Ledger map.
Where this location comes fromCampus location from IPEDS 2024-25This campus location comes from the federal IPEDS 2024-25 record, used as published, so the pin on the map is the campus.IPEDS Institutional Characteristics, Directory information (HD2024), 2024-25 collection, file dated 2025-09-21, retrieved 2026-09-14: coordinate 36.165458, -86.807371 as published. The Census Bureau geocoder returned No Match for the address on file, which no longer decides placement.

Sources

  1. U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. IPEDS Institutional Characteristics, Directory information (HD2024), 2024-25 provisional data collection. Unit id 220792. https://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/datacenter/data/HD2024.zip. File dated 2025-09-21.
  2. U.S. Department of Education, Office of Postsecondary Education. Higher Education Programs Eligibility Matrix, sheet 'HBCU', dated 2026-06-08. https://www.ed.gov/media/document/fy-2026-higher-education-programs-eligibility-matrix-june-8-2026-114185.xlsx.
  3. History, Meharry Medical College. https://meharry.edu/meet-meharry/history/. Read 2026-09-14.
  4. Students: 1,083 total, Fall 2023 (0 undergraduate, 1,083 graduate). IPEDS Fall Enrollment 2023, derived variables (DRVEF2023). https://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/datacenter/data/DRVEF2023.zip. File dated 2024-09-30, read 2026-09-17.
  5. Photograph: Not stated on Wikimedia Commons, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:WTN_PeepHoles_031.JPG. Retrieved 2026-09-16.
  6. U.S. Census Bureau Geocoder, batch address service, benchmark Public_AR_Current. https://geocoding.geo.census.gov/geocoder/.

Enrollment is the official 2023 count, rounded. Tap a school for its source.

Machine-readable: /api/v1/hbcus/meharry-medical-college · All HBCUs

These campuses have gathered generations. TheCookout is where the newBWS community gathers now. Pull up a plate.